New Shared Regionals: University of Georgia Libraries & University of Florida Smathers Libraries

The University of Georgia Libraries (UGA) and the University of Florida’s George A. Smathers Libraries (UF) are the Federal Depository Library Program’s (FDLP) newest shared regionals. Senator Kelly Loeffler of Georgia and Senator Marco Rubio of Florida approved the arrangement and made the shared regional designations.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia by and on behalf of the University of Georgia Libraries and the Board of Trustees of the University of Florida on behalf of the George A. Smathers Libraries that established the shared regional was signed and became effective July 1, 2020. Among the provisions of the MOU are that the libraries will:

  • Retain their regional relationship to the selective depository libraries within their respective service areas.
  • Collect FDLP publications collaboratively and comprehensively according to agency and format designations outlined in their plan.
  • Continue to consult with selective depository libraries in both service areas about materials that could be collected and preserved collaboratively and what education and training to provide.

The shared regionals will better serve the needs of the public, researchers, and selective depository libraries in this region by leveraging the experience and collections of both institutions, and offering networking and educational opportunities to serve a larger base of libraries and communities.

Subscribe to FDLP News & Events

This form is temporarily disabled while new security policies are configured. To subscribe to FDLP News & Events, please email [email protected] and provide your name and email address.